Streaming issues in Australia

We’ve received reports that people are having streaming issues in Australia. This includes issues such as tracks skipping or tracks playing for a few seconds and then not loading. 

Our developers are looking into this and we’ll update you here when we have more information.

Thanks for your patience! 

10 September 2014 13:15 CET/ 04:15 PST

We’ve identified there is a latency issue with our provider in the Oceania region affecting streaming for Australia and New Zealand. 

We have reached out to them and will keep you updated!

12 September 2014 17:06 CET/ 08:06 PST

Our CDN provider has yet to confirm a fix for these latency issues. They are continuing to work on this as a priority and hopefully they can resolve this soon.

Please note that currently the issue is mainly on recently uploaded tracks. However, on testing we’ve found these tracks are playing correctly outside of the Oceania region.

We thank you for your patience and hopefully we can give you a more positive update soon!

15 September 2014 16:07 CET/ 07:07 PST

Latency in the Oceania region has now improved! Our provider has been able to increase performance, and streaming issues should now be returning to normal. 

If you are still experiencing issues, please contact us via our Help Center here. 

Thanks for bearing with us! 

Firefox 30.0 and 31.0 crashing during upload

We have been receiving reports that Firefox 30.0 and 31.0 are crashing when trying to upload large files to SoundCloud. Our developers are currently investigating into this further in order to fix. 

As a workaround, please use another browser such as Google ChromeSafari, or Internet Explorer

Thank you for your patience! 

Removal of HTML in Profile and Track descriptions

Your security is important to us, and we work hard to ensure SoundCloud is a safe place to be. Today we removed the ability to use HTML in profile and track descriptions, to prevent any malicious links that redirect to spam sites being hidden.
You’ll still be able to add links to descriptions, but they will display as full URLs, rather than displaying as text that links. 
You may want to update your profile and track descriptions to remove any HTML code. If you’re using any third-party tools to automatically update your description with links to tour dates, we recommend disabling this and making use of our Songkick or Bandpage integrations which you can read more about here: http://help.soundcloud.com/customer/portal/articles/617867

 

Uploading Issues

14:17 CET / 05:17 PST

Hey everyone,

We are currently investigating reports of uploading and replacing files not working. Thank you in advance for your patience here, as we work hard to fix this! 

15:52 CET/ 05:52 PST

Update: Our developers are now working on a fix to be deployed shortly. 

16:21 CET/ 06:21 PST

Update: A fix has now been deployed. Uploading and replacing files is now functional. Thank you for your patience!

iOS Bug

11:57 CET / 02:57 PST

Hey everybody. Some of you may have noticed a bug within our iOS app in which your tracks may appear as created by a user you follow and reposted to your own account. We’re aware of the problem and working to get it resolved as quickly as possible.

Apologies for the confusion, and we’ll get you more information as soon as we have it.

12:57 CET / 03:57 PST

We’ve rolled out a fix for this problem, and those affected should now see their tracks returning to normal. Thanks again for your patience!

Outage

09:52 CET / 00:52 PST

We are currently looking into a service outage and are working hard to restore the site as soon as possible. We will update here as soon as we have more details.

10:04 CET / 01:04 PST

Our team has fixed the immediate problem and working to restore services now.

10:26 CET / 1:26 PST

We’ve restored enough components so that the Stream can load and tracks can play, but we’re not fully back yet. More updates to come. Thanks for hanging in there, everyone!

11:28 CET / 2:28 PST

We’re still tying up some loose ends, but most services are fully recovered now. Apologies for the interruption, but thanks again for everyone’s patience!

Service Outage

20:09 CET / 11:09 PST

Hi everyone,

We’re currently suffering an unexpected service disruption that’s affecting all of SoundCloud. The team is hard at work to get everything back to normal as quickly as possible, and we’ll keep you posted here as more details become available.

20:53 CET / 11:53 PST

Hey everyone. Service is returning to normal, although some users may still see sporadic problems with certain features for the time being.

22:56 CET / 13:56 PST

To provide a few more details on our outage earlier today, starting at 17:42UTC we started to experience a DDoS attack. By 18:45UTC we were able to restore service to normal operation, and service has been stable since. Thanks again for your patience and understanding during this disruption.

Stability Trouble

23:00 CET / 14:00 PST

Hey everybody,

We’ve received several user reports of trouble loading SoundCloud, and our engineers are currently working to get service restored to everyone. We’ll update you here when we have more information.

23:10 CET / 14:10 PST

Hey again. Service is now being restored to everyone affected by the current instability, but it may take some time for everything to be completely normal for some of you. Thanks again for sticking with us!

Outage

9:13 AM CET / 00:14 AM PST

Hey everyone, an internal balancing system has just failed, which has prevented SoundCloud from loading. We’re working on restoring it as soon as possible. We’ll post more updates here.

9:29 AM CET / 00:29 PST

We’re slowly starting to recover from this, but are still finishing up this rollback. We’ll post again when all is clear!

9:37 AM CET / 00:37 PST

We’re back! The issue was that our configuration management service upgraded an internal balancing system, which wasn’t meant to cause incompatibility, but did. We fixed this issue by returning the system to its correct state and configuration. Apologies for any inconvenience that caused.

Thanks for your patience, everyone! 

Deploys/updates made from April 29 - May 11

Hey everyone,

Here are some of the changes we’ve been making lately:

  • Major changes coming to Classic.
  • Updated copy about stats and spotlight on the Pro page.
  • Fixed Explore top categories.
  • Waveform bug fixes.
  • Retina AppStore badges.
  • Message tab in share panel should be visible only for signed in users.
  • Some general style fixes here and there.
  • Fixed bug in which Likes failed to display in the sidebar.
  • Now hiding Likes sidebar modules for profiles with no Likes.
  • Message compose box should no longer have margin when showed in modal.
  • New tabbed Upload / Edit interface.
  • Likes are now shareable from the Likes page.